Every Book in the “Game of Thrones” Series, In Order

George R. R. Martin’s “A Song of Ice and Fire” book series has become one of the most popular and well-known pop culture properties of the last decade or so. Spanning several novels, companion books, and now multiple TV shows, the “Game of Thrones” universe is massive, far-reaching, and not slowing down anytime soon!

Like many other books in the fantasy genre, “A Song of Ice and Fire” spins a sprawling and epic tale of a fantasy world filled with danger, intrigue, betrayals, and plenty of supernatural elements. Westeros, a kingdom ruled by a precarious royal dynasty with powerful nobles and houses plotting to obtain power for themselves, is a dangerous and complicated place. Martin has also further expanded this rich universe with prequels like “Fire and Blood,” the basis for HBO’s upcoming “Game of Thrones” spinoff series, “House of the Dragon,” and other spinoff materials.

The main lineup of books is the foundation for HBO’s adaptation, “Game of Thrones,” although the TV series, by necessity, wound up exploring far beyond where the written works have currently left off. The fifth and most recent book in the main series was published in 2011, with two more books (tentatively titled “The Winds of Winter” and “A Dream of Spring”) still to come – although no release dates have been officially announced. Until then, here’s a brief rundown of the entire series so far, what to expect from each, and what order to read them in!

Sign up for HBO Max now to watch “House of the Dragon” when it premieres on Aug. 21, 2022.

Game of Thrones Books in Order